INHSU 2021

13-15 October 2021

Virtual conference

Epidemiology and public health in hepatitis C, other infectious diseases, and the broader health of people who use drugs.

Register now

 

Satellite Program 

 

13 Oct 14 Oct 15 Oct On Demand Satellite

 

We are pleased to present a series of satellite events that allow for a deep dive into key topics of interest on the health and wellbeing of people who use drugs. 

These virtual 60-90 minute sessions have been developed in partnership with collaborating organisations and stakeholders and take place from 4 October – 5 November. Sessions will be highly interactive and are included in your INHSU 2021 conference ticket. To encourage broad debate, sessions during drug policy week are open to all, regardless of if you have a ticket for the conference or not. 

  • Week 1: Funding & Financing
  • Week 2: Diagnostics & Testing
  • Week 3: Community-led initiatives 
  • Week 4: Drug Policy 

Week 1: Funding and Financing

 

The Health of People Who Use Drugs and Universal Health Coverage (UHC): What are we actually talking about?

Date: Tuesday 5 October 2021
Time: 8:00-9:00pm AEDT; 11:00am-12:00pm CEST; 10:00-11:00am BST
Format:
Presentations and a panel discussion
Overview: In this session you will learn about the UHC concept and its relevance and opportunities for the health of people who use drugs.

UHC is a key concept in public health and will be essential for improving health outcomes in the coming decades. Understanding UHC is essential for all who work with people who use drugs and other key populations.

UHC is a broad concept, representing a goal for health systems to ultimately achieve. UHC is what we strive for; what we do to get there is strengthen health systems…yet where does that leave drug user health? Given the broad remit of action, it is not always clear where specific health services or priority programs fit in.

In this session, we unpack ‘UHC’ and ‘health systems strengthening’, discuss why the health of people who use drugs is an important part of these concepts, and explore how steering health systems towards UHC advances distinct program objectives.  

Chaired by: Annette Verster, Technical Lead – Key Populations, Global HIV, Hepatitis and STIs Programme, WHO & Justin Koonin, Co-Chair of UHC 2030 and ACON President

 

 

Week 2: Diagnostics and Testing

 

Hepatitis C Self-Testing: Empowering People who use Drugs and Increasing Access to HCV Testing and Care

Date: Tuesday 19 October 2021
Time: 8:00-9:15pm AEDT; 11:00am-12:15pm CEST; 10:00-11:15am BST
Format: Presentations and breakout rooms
Overview: In this session we will review the new WHO recommendations on HCV self testing, community values and preferences and discuss optimizing  delivery and support models for people who use drugs.   
Chaired by: Ketevan Stviliak, NCDC Georgia & Rachel Baggaley, WHO

 

Innovations in HCV Diagnostics: Real-World Implementation 

Date: Thursday 21 October / Friday 22 October
Time: 6:00-7:30am AEDT (22 Oct); 9:00-10:30pm CEST (21 Oct); 8:00-9:30pm BST (21 Oct); 12:00-1:30pm PDT (21 Oct); 3:00-4:30pm EDT (21 Oct)
Format: Presentations and breakout rooms
Overview: In this session we will discuss near-to-patient diagnostic innovations, practical solutions to scale up and bringing testing closer to community, and demonstration projects and case studies that address access, affordability, financing, and other policy issues.
Chaired by: Bryn Gay, HCV Project Director, Treatment Action Group, Sonjelle Shilton, Hepatitis Lead, Foundation for Innovative New Diagnostics, Jason Grebely, Senior Research Fellow, The Kirby Institute, UNSW Sydney, Mauro Guarinieri, RCF Consortium Coordinator, International Network of People Who Use Drugs 

 

 

Week 3: Community-led Initiatives 

 

Addressing the Critical Role of Communities in Research (this event has been cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances) 

INPUD logo

Date: Tuesday 26 October
Time: 8:00-9:00pm AEDT; 11:00am-12:00pm CEST; 10:00-11:00am BST
Format: Panel discussion and case study examples
Overview: Much of the research that informs policy and decision making excludes key populations, such as people who use drugs. Through panel discussion and case study examples, this session will explore why it is more crucial than ever for communities to take the lead by engaging in research and how to apply research to community work.
Chaired by: Judy Chang, International Network of People who Use Drugs (INPUD) and Jake Agliata, INPUD

 

Workshop: HCV Testing in Community by the Community

Correlation Network

Date: Thursday 28 October 
Time: 8:00-9:00pm AEDT; 11:00am-12:00pm CEST; 10:00-11:00am BST
Format: Presentation and panel discussion 
Overview: Testing in the community is one of the most effective ways to connect patients to treatment and care. The session will highlight and document the outstanding efforts made by drug user organisations to inform, test and support their community and discuss the HCV Community Testing Starters Kit, developed to serve new initiatives in this area. 
Chaired by: Jason Farrell, Consultant, Correlation – European Harm Reduction Network (C-EHRN) & Christos Anastasiou, European Network of People who Use Drugs (EuroNPUD) 

 

 

Week 4: Drug Policy

Available to attend without a conference ticket

 

CRACKDOWN Podcast Listen Party and Panel Discussion: The War Against Feeling Alright – Decriminalizing Pleasure 

Date: Tuesday 2 November / Wednesday 3 November
Time: 6:00-7:30am AEDT (3 Nov); 9:00-10:30pm CEST (2 Nov); 8:00-9:30pm BST (2 Nov); 12:00-1:30pm PDT (2 Nov); 3:00-4:30pm EDT (2 Nov)
Format: Panel discussion 
Overview: CRACKDOWN is a Canadian podcast about drugs, drug policy and the drug war led by drug user activists and supported by research. This session will include clips from the podcast interspersed with a discussion on the pleasure behind using substances and looking at drug use from a human rights vs. public health or criminal justice perspective.
Facilitated by: Garth Mullins, CRACKDOWN Podcast
Panellists:
Judy Chang, INPUD, Angela McBride, South African Network of People Who Use Drugs (SANPUD), Matthew Bonn, Canadian Association of People Who Use Drugs (CAPUD), Sione Crawford, Harm Reduction Victoria, Louise Vincent, Urban Survivors Union 

 

Decriminalisation of Drug Use: An Interactive Workshop on Design Considerations 

Date: Thursday 4 November / Friday 5th November
Time: 6:00-7:30am AEDT (5 Nov); 9:00-10:30pm CEST (4 Nov); 8:00-9:30pm BST (4 Nov); 12:00-1:30pm PDT (4 Nov); 3:00-4:30pm EDT (4 Nov)
Format: Interactive workshop and panel discussion
Overview: Governments across the globe are considering the decriminalisation of drug use, yet there is not one model. This workshop will explore all the design choices including eligibility criteria, use of threshold quantities, mandatory treatment, which drugs, and more. Panellists will include policy makers(s), consumer(s), legal expert(s) and researcher(s).
Facilitated by: Alison Ritter, Drug Policy Modelling Program (DPMP), UNSW 

 

Register for INHSU Drug Policy Week